Universal Credit Digital Service roll out

As at February 2016 the full universal credit service is being piloted at four south London Jobcentres. This pilot will extend to four more areas before the official roll-out begins in May. From May and throughout 2016 the Government’s intention is to bring five Jobcentres online each month. From the start of 2017 the expectation is that progress will be substantially faster – up to 50 Jobcentres per month. The list below shows the Government’s intended roll out schedule.

The digital service will replace new claims to all six legacy benefits in these areas. Up until now universal credit has only been available as a new claim for new jobseekers. This represents a substantial increase in the number and types of people who will be expected to claim universal credit.

Pilots at February 2016

  • Sutton
  • Croydon
  • London bridge
  • Hounslow

Pilot extension February – April 2016

  • Musselburgh
  • Purley
  • Thornton Heath
  • Great Yarmouth

Phase 1 of full roll-out

May 2016

  • Bath and North East Somerset – Bath JCP
  • Newcastle City Council – Newcastle Cathedral Square JCP
  • Rugby Borough Council – Rugby JCP
  • Sedgemoor District Council – Bridgwater JCP
  • Waveney District Council – Lowestoft JCP

June 2016

  • Harrogate Borough Council – Harrogate JCP
  • Highland Council – Inverness JCP
  • London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham – Hammersmith JCP
  • Ryedale District Council – Ryedale JCP

July 2016

  • Halton Borough Council – Runcorn JCP and Widnes JCP
  • Lancaster City Council – Lancaster JCP and Morecombe JCP
  • Mendip District Council – Frome JCP and Wells JCP

Phase 2 of full roll-out

October 2016

  • Craven District Council – Skipton JCP
  • Hambleton District Council – Northallerton JCP
  • London Borough of Lambeth – Kensington JCP
  • London Borough of Southwark – Peckham JCP
  • Taunton Deane Borough Council – Taunton JCP
  • West Somerset Council – Minehead JCP

November 2016

  • Allerdale Borough Council – Workington JCP
  • Copeland Borough Council – Whitehaven JCP
  • Daventry District Council – Daventry JCP
  • Harborough District Council – Market Harborough JCP
  • Highland Council – Dingwall JCP, Fort William JCP, Invergordon JCP, Portree JCP and Wick JCP
  • Melton Borough Council – Melton Mowbray JCP

December 2016

  • Hartlepool Borough Council – Hartlepool JCP
  • Hastings Borough Council – Hastings JCP
  • London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham – Shepherd’s Bush JCP and Fulham JCP
  • Stratford District Council – Stratford-upon-Avon JCP
  • Swindon Borough Council – Swindon JCP